2013 Chief's Awards Winners

The following are winners in each category for the 2013 Chief's Awards. The list of winners is in bold text.

Sustaining Forests and Grasslands (Goal 1)

Two winners:

- Inter-Agency ForWarn Team (SRS), William Hargrove, PhD., et al. (Southern Research Station)
 D. Lee, W. Hargrove, S. Norman, W. Christie, S. Worley Firley, P. Spriggs, N. Grulke, S. Schroeder, W. Graham, J. Spruce, G. Gasser, J. Smoot, P. Kuper, C. Jenkerson, J. Brown, T. Loveland, F. Hoffman, J. Kumar, R. Mills, Rogers, M. Philips, D. Morgan, M. Hutchins, and C. Dougherty
- Wyoming Wildlife and Natural Resource Trust (Region 2)

 Delanie Roberts and Bob Budd (External partners)

Meeting America's Needs (Goal 2)

• Report to the Secretary, USDA & Forest Service Policies and Procedures Review and Recommendations: Indian Sacred Sites, . Fred Clark (Team Lead, WO) and Sacred Sites Report Core Team (All Regions)

Fred Clark, Tracy Calazon, Ericka Luna, Michael Kaczor, Kendall Clark, William Reed, Larry Heady, Steve Kessler, and Toni Stanger.

Conserving Open Space (Goal 3)

• The Greater Northeast Reserve, A Collaborative Journey for the Conservation of 11,000 acres of Open Space (Region 8)

Pedro Rios (Team Lead), Pablo Cruz, William Gould, Felipe Cano, Luis A. Rivera, Kathleen McGingley, and Tamara Heartsill (El Yunque National Forest, R8)

Promoting Recreation (Goal 4)

• History Comes to Life at Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Rabideau, Restoring and Sustaining our Historical Buildings (Region 9)

Greg Morris, Darla Lenz, Andrea LeVasseur, Nancy Larson, Frank Polich, Danny Dennis, Gary Brama, Jay Smrekar, Bill Yourd, Todd Tisler, Ann Long-Voelkner, and Randy Lloyd (Chippewa National Forest, R9); Mark Ederold and Jack Reddeck (Red Lake Builders); Natasha Weiner and Mary Ann Heidman (State Historic Preservation Office); Deanna Sanford and Mark Chavez (National Park Service); Dan Evans (CALC Rabideau Coordinator); and John Parmeter (Rabideau Summer Youth)

Leading in the Business Environment (Goal 5)

Three winners:

• Land between the Lakes (LBL) National Recreation Area – Scott Turner (Team Lead) and the Business Performance Department (Region 8)

Scott Turner, Jared Baker, Greg Barnes, Kim Crump, Peggy Hargis, Glen Kinder, Angela Mitchell, Margie Mitchell, Lisa Neamon-Wilson, Kevan Paluso, Rob Sigler, and Donna Thompson

• Mountain Pine Beetle Response Project (Region 2)

Craig Beckner, Kerry Burns, Blaine Cook, Tammy Cordell, Marie M. Curtin, Melissa Dempsey, Edward Fischer, Brent A Foster, Leslie Gonyer, Michael R Hilton, Steven R Hirtzel, Scott J Jacobson, Stephen P Keegan, Keneth J Marchand, Chelsea Monks, Todd Pechota, Deanna Reyher, Brandon Taglioli, Katie Van Alstyne, Robert Thompson, Dennis Jaeger, Craig Bobzien (Black Hills National Forest)

• Stewardship Mapping and Reporting Tool (SMART), Karl R. Dalla Rosa (Team Lead) and State and Private Forestry, Cooperative Forestry, Forest Stewardship Program (Regions 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8 10, Northeastern Area, WO, and IITF)

Karl R. Dalla Rosa, Peter Bedker, Tom Luther, Seward Hamilton, Mindia Brown, Chris Gerecke, Barbara Tormoehlen, Cindy Barnett, Rebecca Puddy, Sara Comas, Luke Tomczak, Joshua Baldwin, Matt Tansey, Brad Barber, Jack Perdue, and Magaly Figueroa

Engaging Urban America (Goal 6)

Wilderness Stewardship Crew (Region 5)

L'Tanga Watson (Team Lead), Gabe Garcia, Melisa Lyons, and Alfredo Zarate, Freddie Duncan, O'Dell Tucker (Retired), Fabian Garcia, Sandy Bonilla, and Bobby Vega (San Bernardino and Angeles National Forests, Urban Conservation Corps, and Southern CA Consortium, R5)

Excellence in Science and Technology (Goal 7)

Two winners:

• Steven McNulty (Southern Research Station), Researching and Advancing Global Climate-Related Societal Impacts

Steven McNulty

• Developing and delivering scientific principles, partnerships, and actions for adaptation to climate change in national forests

Linda Joyce (RMRS), Constance I. Millar (PSW), David L. Peterson (PNW), and Christopher W. Swanston (NRS) – Lead Climate Change Scientists

Cultural Transformation

• Karen Hayden (District Ranger) and the employees of the Feather River Ranger District (FRRD), Plumas National Forest (R5)

Karen Hayden

Creating a Safety Culture

• Chris Joosen and Forest Safety Committee (White Mountain National Forest, R9) Revolutionizing Safety and Safety Culture

Chris Joosen